Colby Sawyer College in NSCRO 2017 Women's Top 20

Colby Sawyer College in NSCRO 2017 Women's Top 20

December 22, 2017


New London, NH, 20 December 2017 – Colby Sawyer College is listed in the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) Women’s Top 20 Fall Rankings.

NERFU is represented solely by the Colby Sawyer College Women’s Rugby.

Wayne State College, the 2017 Women’s National Champion leads the ranking. They are followed by Bentley University, York College of Pennsylvania, Gustavus Adolphus College and Colorado College rounding out the top five.

Over 100 NSCRO women’s teams participated in fall league play leading to the NSCRO Women’s 15s National Championships held at Life University in Marietta, GA on 02-03 December.  Many of the women’s teams will now shift to playing 7s in order to qualify for the 2018 NSCRO Women’s 7s National Championship.


Rank    Team                                                               Conference

1          Wayne State College                                      Prairie States

2          Bentley University                                         Rugby Northeast

3          York College of Pennsylvania                       Mid-Atlantic

4          Gustavus Adolphus College                          Northern Lights

5          Colorado College                                           Rocky Mountain

6          Lee University                                                NSCRO Independent

7          Colgate University                                         Upstate NY

8          University of Rochester                                 Upstate NY

9          University of Massachusetts Dartmouth            Colonial Coast

10        Western State Colorado College                  Rocky Mountain

11        Endicott College                                             Colonial Coast

12        Widener University                                        Eastern Pennsylvania

13        University of Scranton                                  Mid-Atlantic

14        St. Bonaventure University                           Upstate NY

15        SUNY Oneonta                                               Upstate NY

16        Fordham University                                       Tri-State

17        Minnesota State University Moorhead            Northern Lights

18        College of Saint Benedict                              Northern Lights

19        Denison University                                        Ohio Valley

20        Colby Sawyer College                                    New England


NERFU (New England Rugby Football Union) is a Geographical Union (GU) for rugby union teams in New England. The union has 82 clubs and over 3,600 members competing in 10 separate divisions.

The mission of NERFU is to manage, serve, and promote the game of rugby in the New England area, at all levels of play; to assist member teams and participants in their various forms of involvement with the game; to adhere to all the laws of the game; and to encourage and facilitate the involvement of as many people as possible in rugby activities.

About National Small College Rugby Organization

Since 2007, the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) has been at the forefront of fostering and developing small college rugby programs in the United States. NSCRO is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing services to small college programs that raise the profile, image, and benefits of collegiate rugby in the eyes of school administrators.

Comprised of nearly 400 men’s and women’s college rugby clubs who participate in more than 30 leagues, NSCRO provides an opportunity for these programs to showcase their abilities to a broader audience with a chance at a national title and ranking. Along with recognizing club and player success on and off the field, the increased visibility NSCRO creates has led to improved school support, greater on-campus interest in rugby, and growth in financial support and alumni involvement.