NSCRO Women's National Championship

NSCRO Women's National Championship

December 13, 2013


The following trophies and awards were handed out following at the NSCRO Women's National Championship, held on Nov. 23-24 in Cherry Hill, NJ.

Player Recognition

NSCRO "All-NSCRO Championship XV" Team - selections were made by USA Rugby Selectors Kristin Aliberto and Emily Tunney along with Kate Hallinan. Kristin and Emily were appointed by Martha Daines, USA Rugby's Women's College All-American Team Head Coach, to evaluate players for possible invitations to future WCAA Camps. At present, 3 NSCRO "players" are on tour with the WCAA Team in France as a result of Martha's interest in small college players. The players, Leslie Ota (Fordham Univ.), Jacie Vonada (So. Dakota State Univ.) and Katie Foss (Augustana College), all received NSCRO financial support to offset their out-of-pocket cost to attend the WCAA Camps and travel to France with the WCAA team.
Each of the 15 players received a trophy recognizing their selection as well as a custom NSCRO t-shirt (courtesy of World Rugby Shop) plus a Philadelphia Women's Rugby Club t-shirt.

MVP - best overall player during the event was awarded to flanker Amber Kutnink of Wayne State College.

NSCRO "Heart & Soul" Award - a match ball was given to a player(s) on each team (as selected by the team's coaching staff), who was been an inspiration and significant contributor to the club both on and off the field. NSCRO hopes her teammates will sign in appreciation of what she has meant to the team. The recipients were:
Roger Williams University - Mikaela Feroli
Millersville University - Christina Houck
Smith College - Cam Fear and Rachel Desrochers
Wayne State College - Emily Atkinson and Bonnie Sisco

NSCRO Medals (gold, silver and bronze) were awarded to the players on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place teams.

Team Recognition

Trophies were awarded for:
1st Place - Wayne State College, Wayne, NE. Head Coach - Darrin Barner
2nd Place - Smith College, Northampton, MA. Head Coach - Chris St. Onge
3rd Place - Millersville University, Lancaster, PA. Head Coach - Max DiGiulio
4th Place - Roger Williams University, Bristol, RI. Head Coach - Tom Campbell

Gift Certificates were generously provided by World Rugby Shop, Brad Kilpatrick, Head of Rugby as follows:
$500 - 1st Place
$250 - 2nd Place
$150 - 3rd Place
$100 - 4th Place

World Rugby Shop is proud to be an official partner of the National Small College Rugby Organization. If you support Small College Rugby – then show it with NSCRO apparel found at www.worldrugbyshop.com/NSCRO. A portion of each sales purchase goes to NSCRO.   

For the latest NSCRO News, visit www.nscro.org.