Nominations Saught For Doc Laurence Award

Nominations Saught For Doc Laurence Award

January 17, 2014


The NERFU Board is looking for nominations for the 2014 Dr. Robert L. Laurence Award. The Robert L. Laurence award was introduced to NERFU in 1999 by former Executive Director of Colleges, Christopher Fauske. Mr. Fauske's desire was to have the Union acknowledge a College Administrator for their support of rugby in New England and to help build the relationships between the colleges and the union.
Robert L. Laurence was chosen to have the award named in his honor based on the tremendous level of dedication he has shown to the Union, the Colleges, and the game in New England.
Nominees are to be affiliated with a team in NERFU. The NERFU team must be a rugby club in good standing with the union and institution. The Nominee must have showcased tremendous level of dedication to the rugby development in the Union.  
Past Recipients
2012 Jeffrey Ward, Bowdoin College
2010 Monica Capobianco, Assistan Director, Club Sports and Recreational Camp, Boston College
2009 Zaf Bludevich, Assistant Director, Saint Michael's College
2007 Robert (Bob) J. Allen , Groundskeeper, Wellesley College
2006 Anthony Mariano, Athletics Director at Norwich University
2005 Rick Hazelton, Athletic Director at Trinity College
2004 Dr. Zulma Garcia, Director of Intramurals and Club Sports, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2003 Richard Sullivan, VP of Finance Western Connecticut State, University
2002 Marsha Graef, Assistant Director of Athletics, Bates College
2001 Edward Carroll, Director of the Flynn Complex, Boston College
2000 Dr. John McKenzie, Professor, Babson College
1999 Denise Monahan, Director of Recreation, University of New Hampshire

Please send all nominations by January 25th to the NERFU Secretary, Caro Ruiz. The award will be given out at the NERFU AGM on February 8th, at the DCU Center in Worcester.

The NERFU Board