Introducing the Men's NERFU 7s Championship Series

Introducing the Men's NERFU 7s Championship Series

May 06, 2014


In an effort to help promote and strengthen the Rugby 7s competition in New England, this summer we will be introducing a new Men’s NERFU 7s Championship Series. Designed strictly for the local area, the series will be open to all New England teams. It will be comprised of 5 nominated tournaments with points being awarded for both participation and a Top 4 finish.  At the conclusion of the 5th tournament a NERFU Champion will be crowned, awarded to the team with the highest points earned. Teams will not be mandated to compete in all 5 tournaments, however, bonus points will be awarded to those teams that do. In addition, each tournament will continue to crown winners as usual, independent of the series.


The tournaments nominated to participate in this year’s series are as follows:



Tournament/Club Website

Worcester 7s (MA)

June 21st

Newport 7s (RI)

June 28th

Springfield 7s (MA)

July 12th

Saratoga 7s (NY)

July 19th

New Haven 7s (CT)

July 26th


Team and player eligibility will be dictated in accordance with the rules of each tournament independently.

Series Points

Teams that compete in the ‘Open Division’ of any of the nominated tournaments will be awarded 2 points per tournament and an additional 10 points will be awarded to those teams that compete in all 5. For each tournament, the top 4 placing NERFU teams* will earn the following points:



Top Place


1st Runner-Up


2nd Runner-Up


3rd Runner-Up



*Teams outside of NERFU can compete in any of the nominated tournaments, however, points will only be awarded to those teams from NERFU.

In the event of a tie at the conclusion of the 5th tournament, a winner will be determined based on the team with the higher number of top placed finishes.

In addition to the title, a prize will be awarded to the team crowned NERFU Series Champions.

Good luck!